Teaching El to read, The Plan.

Who: My son, Elliott (“El”)

Background:

I have been putting this off for a year or so. I should have begun last summer break. I did not. My kid, “El,” is pretty bright, incredibly stubborn, sometimes very sweet, sometimes very aggressive. The gamut of human emotions, really. But ALWAYS at 101% of that emotion. He has been in daycare and/ or prekindergarten since he was 2 (with the exception of the COVID-19 pandemic), and he has certainly picked up some reading skills from his teachers and caregivers. We also make a point to read to him (pretty much) anytime he asks and at least once a day (pretty much). He has started writing his name as early as 3 years old, and more recently has started copying what we write for birthday cards (and the like).

The Plan:

When: Approximately one hour per day, 5-6 days per week (usually while the younger child is napping).

What: My plan is to teach my son the fundamentals of reading three letter consonant-vowel-consonant words. This is a foundational skill that has to be approached with careful understanding of the nuance associated with various vowel consonant combinations (for example, R-controlled vowels sound slightly different than a vowel not in front of an “r”).

How: To start, I will evaluate his understanding of each letter sound based on his own explanation. He will tell me the sound(s) that each letter makes when I show him a book that associates words with their beginning letter and has pictures of those words. Though this may seem like “cheating,” this is also a foundational reading skill for blooming readers (using the whole text to make sense of a word). Next we will practice sounding out words based on his understanding of each letter. I will take notes on any confusion, misunderstanding, successes, and opportunities for improvement. I will continually collect data and evaluate his understanding based on his mistakes and growth over the course of 2 weeks.
As his familiarity with letter sounds grows, I will incorporate digital flash cards and games to help him practice his reading and bring “fun” into the mix. I will also provide physical and digital texts that incorporate the words and sounds he is working on.

Why: Aside from every kid needing to learn to read, El is approaching kindergarten, and I would like him to enter school with some general understanding of letters, sounds, blending, and general reading skills. I do not anticipate nor expect him to be a fluent reader going into kindergarten, but I do not want him going into school with no idea either. I am approaching this instruction in a way like small reading groups. I do not particularly enjoy teaching reading, but I love to read and want to encourage that love in all kids. Providing an individualized, and sometimes “fun” approach to reading is a great way to encourage that enjoyment. Technology also provides the opportunity for games, nuanced approaches to standard reading, and visual cues that may be unobvious to a student reading on paper. Tools such as ABC Mouse, Okapi digital literacy, and various digital texts will help guide Elliott through reading fundamentals with support from a teacher (me).

Aside about reinforcement: I will be utilizing a physical chart so Elliott can earn screen time, treats, and a choice of activities (here goes $75 to the trampoline park) as rewards for mastering a list of words that will help solidify his CVC word recognition. I will be using “nonsense” words and actual words to test his skills using various vowels to confirm his understanding of each vowel and consonant sound combination as appropriate for a kindergartener.

Benjamin Carter @carterb5